Saturday, March 19, 2011

Symphony of Hope: The Haiti Project

The Haiti Project

'Symphony of Hope' is a musical fundraising project which was originally designed to help the people of Haiti in their desperate time of need. A year after the terrible earthquake which has destroyed the lives of thousands of Haitians, the need for assistance is even greater than ever. 'Symphony of Hope' is a collaboration by 25 of today's leading Oscar, Tony, Grammy and Emmy winning composers to benefit Haiti Earthquake Relief. The 'Symphony of Hope' begins with an original Haitian melody, then each composer contributes an additional 8-32 bars of music to the piece and then passes it along to the next composer. This is symbolic in the way that one lending hand passes on to another lending hand and so on and eventually a beautiful outcome is derived. 

The Haiti Project' will be recording on March 26, 2011 at the Warner Brothers Eastwood Scoring Stage, in Burbank, CA. With the incredible talents of 90 AFM Local 47 studio musicians, as well as a 60-person choir, the five-part symphony which has been worked on for over a year will finally come to life 

The composers involved are: 
Nathan Barr, Tyler Bates, Jeff Beal, Christophe Beck, Bruce Broughton, George S. Clinton, Elia Cmiral, Don Davis, John Debney, Randy Edelman, Andrew Gross, Dave Grusin, Marvin Hamlisch, David Kitay, Christopher Lennertz, Deborah Lurie, Lisbeth Scott, Pete Seibert, Theodore Shapiro, Ed Shearmur, John Swihart, Brian Tyler, Michael Wandmacher, Timothy Michael Wynn, and Christopher Young

No comments: