Tuesday, April 5, 2011

ALEXANDRE DESPLAT - La Fille Du Puisatier (2011) (cd)

Original Motion Picture Soundtrack


Music Composed by
Alexandre Desplat
(Twilight: New Moon, The King’s Speech, Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows)

One afternoon while cutting across the field to take lunch to her father, Patricia meets Jacques.  She is 18 and pretty, with the manners of a young lady; he is 26, a fighter pilot and handsome.  A bit of moonlight holds sway over their second meeting.  There won’t be a third — Jacques is sent to the front.

Patricia finds herself pregnant, and the boy’s rich parents cry blackmail.  Patricia and her father, the well-digger, are the only ones to welcome the infant with joy — a joy that Jacques’ parents soon begin to envy and want to share because Jacques is reported missing …

Academy Award nominee Alexandre Desplat (The King’s Speech, Fantastic Mr. Fox, The Queen) provides a beautifully pastoral score.  The CD also features Enrico Caruso’s performance of the song, “Core ‘Ngrato,” used so prominently in the film.

La Fille Du Puisatier opens in France on April 27.

Varèse Sarabande Catalog #: 302 067 085 2
E.U. Release Date: 04/27/11

 U.S. Itunes Release Date: 04/26/11


1. La Fille du Puisatier (3:27)
2. Core ’ngrato — 1911 Recording (4:27)
3. Les Roseaux (3:13)
4. Rendez-Vous Manqué (2:24)
5. J’ai RÊvé D’Une Fleur (3:18)
6. A Travers Champs (3:09)
7. Core ’ngrato — Orchestral Version (4:29)
8. Départ Pour La Guerre (2:08)
9. L’Enfant (2:24)
10. Core ’ngrato — Cello Version (3:18)
11. La Solitude D’Amoretti (2:33)
12. La Fille Perdue (1:35)
13. Core ’ngrato — Orchestral Reprise (4:34)

No comments: