Saturday, November 29, 2008

PHILIPPE ROMBI | new CD releases for late 2008 / early 2009

After the much celebrated gorgeous score for Angel last year, 40-year old French composer Phillipe Rombi returns with 2 new CD releases.

First is Bienvenue chez les Ch'tis coming from Naive Records France on a 28-tracks CD released on 28-oct-08. Here's the CD info quoted from Screen Archives Entertainment:

1. Bienvenue chez les Ch'tis (générique)
2. Valse des Ch'tis
3. Mutation
4. C'est le Nooord
5. Le Départ
6. Le Plat Pays
(Jacques Brel)
7. Arrivée à Bergues
8. Deux ans...
9. Le vieux Lille
10. Le carillon d'Antoine
(par Stefano Colletti)
11. Les corons / clair de lune à Maubeuge
(par le public du stade de Lens / l'Harmonie de Bergues)
12. Les chars à voile
13. La tournée (1ère partie)
14. Le P'tit Quinquin
(Alexandre Desrousseaux, par Jenny Clève)
15. La tournée (2ème partie)
16. I just called to say I love you
(Stevie Wonder, au carillon par Stefano Colletti)
17. Julie chez les Ch'tis
18. Nocturne du carillonneur
(par Stefano Colletti)
19. Philippe parle à Julie
20. Les adieux
21. Générique de fin
22. Le carillon d'Antoine
(par Stefano Colletti)
23. La tournée (orchestral)
24. Bienvenue chez les Ch'tis (générique version film)

And the plot outline:

" Although living a comfortable life in Salon-de-Provence, a charming town in the South of France, Julie has been feeling depressed for a while. To please her, Philippe Abrams, a post office administrator, her husband, tries to obtain a transfer to a seaside town, on the French Riviera, at any cost. The trouble is that he is caught red-handed while trying to scam an inspector. Philippe is immediately banished to the distant unheard of town of Bergues, in the Far North of France. Leaving his child and wife behind, the crucified man leaves for his frightening destination, a dreadfully cold place inhabited by hard-drinking, unemployed rednecks, speaking an incomprehensible dialect called Ch'ti. Philippe soon realizes that all these ideas were nothing but prejudices and that Bergues is not synonymous with hell... 2008 "

Click for the link for the release on the label's official site.

Second release is Un homme et son chien coming from Zig-Zag Territoires, 2009, 18 tracks, 44'48" on a CD release on 10-jan-2009. Here's the LINK for the CD.

Stay tuned for more info as it becomes available!

No comments: