Friday, February 15, 2013

International Film Music Critics Association launches IFMCA Radio with a look at the best scores of 2012

The International Film Music Critics Association is proud to announce the launch of IFMCA Radio, a new audio feature which will bring a new, dynamic aspect to the IFMCA’s work.

This inaugural broadcast of IFMCA Radio celebrates the music nominated for the 2012 IFMCA Awards, and features selections by several members which represent, in their opinion, some of the best individual film, TV and video game cues from 2012.

The selections in this special 2-hour programme includes music from JOHN CARTER (Michael Giacchino), JOURNEY (Austin Wintory), SECRET OF THE WINGS (Joel McNeely), DOWNTON ABBEY (John Lunn), DOCTOR WHO (Murray Gold), CLOUD ATLAS (Tom Tykwer/Johnny Klimek/Reinhold Heil), RISE OF THE GUARDIANS (Alexandre Desplat), THE IMPOSSIBLE (Fernando Velázquez), METSÄN TARINA (Panu Aaltio), DANS LA MAISON (Philippe Rombi), TED (Walter Murphy), PARANORMAN (Jon Brion), STAR TREK: THE MOTION PICTURE (Jerry Goldsmith), LINCOLN (John Williams), SKYFALL (Thomas Newman), THE DARK KNIGHT RISES (Hans Zimmer), KINGDOMS OF AMALUR: RECKONING (Grant Kirkhope), LIFE OF PI (Mychael Danna), ISABEL (Federico Jusid), ANNA KARENINA (Dario Marianelli), MOONRISE KINGDOM (Alexandre Desplat), BEASTS OF THE SOUTHERN WILD (Dan Romer/Benh Zeitlin), WIR WOLLTEN AUFS MEER (Nic Raine), and QUO VADIS (Miklós Rózsa)

Participating members include:

    Jon Broxton, Movie Music UK
    Tim Burden, Film Score Monthly/Movie Magic
    Demetris Christodoulides, Score Magacine
    Christopher Coleman, TrackSounds
    Erin Veronica Corrado, One Movie Five Views
    Paul Cote, Cinemusic
    Clark Douglas, Movie Music UK/WHIE Radio
    Oscar Flores, Film Music Site
    Dimitri Riccio, Colonne Sonore
    Alan Rogers, Reel Music/MainTitles
    Brian Satterwhite, Nuance Music/Film Score Focus
    Erik Woods, Cinematic Sound Radio

The complete list of 2012 IFMCA Award nominees can be found HERE.

The broadcast also includes a brand new piece of music, the “IFMCA Fanfare”, which was written exclusively for the IFMCA by composer David Coscina.

No comments: