Sunday, December 18, 2011

CLIFF EIDELMAN - Big Miracle (2011, cd)

Inspired by the true story that captured the hearts of people across the world, the rescue adventure Big Miracle tells the amazing tale of a small town news reporter (John Krasinski) and a Greenpeace volunteer (Drew Barrymore) who are joined by rival world superpowers to save a family of majestic gray whales trapped by rapidly forming ice in the Arctic Circle.
Local newsman Adam Carlson (Krasinski) can’t wait to escape the northern tip of Alaska for a bigger market. But just when the story of his career breaks, the world comes chasing it, too. With an oil tycoon, heads of state and hungry journalists descending upon the frigid outpost, the one who worries Adam the most is Rachel Kramer (Barrymore). Not only is she an outspoken environmentalist, she’s also his ex-girlfriend.
With time running out, Rachel and Adam must rally an unlikely coalition of Inuit natives, oil companies and Russian and American military to set aside their differences and free the whales. As the world’s attention turns to the top of the globe, saving these endangered animals becomes a shared cause for nations entrenched against one another and leads to a momentary thaw in the Cold War.
1. Main Title (Whale Hunt) (2:05)
2. Barrow (:55)
3. National News (3:15)
4. Fighting The Ice (:28)
5. The World Beneath (2:19)
6. Fred, Wilma And Bam Bam (1:22)
7. Solid Ice (1:38)
8. Pressure Ridge (5:09)
9. Inupiats’ Decision (1:42)
10. Media Frenzy / Will It Work? (2:31)
11. A Change Of Heart (1:19)
12. Kelly Can’t Connect (2:20)
13. We’re In Big Trouble Out Here (2:14)
14. Generating Hope (1:13)
15. The Barge Fails (1:20)
16. New Breathing Holes (1:18)
17. The Russians Make A Bet / Gorby, It’s Ronny (2:24)
18. It’s Going To Be Okay (1:12)
19. Missing (1:26)
20. Bam Bam Is Gone / A Prayer (3:52)
21. Answering The Call (1:56)
22. The Russians Break Through (4:13)
23. Freedom (2:04)
24. Where Are They Now (3:08)
Click here for more.


Scottish composer Patrick Doyle needs no further introduction to film music fans, but let’s just try to condense what he has achieved so far since he made his over-night break-through with Kenneth Branagh’s Henry V in 1989: two Oscar nominations, two Golden Globe nominations, the winner of multiple prestigious awards, fruitful collaborations with acclaimed directors such as Kenneth Branagh, Brian de Palma, Mike Newell and RĂ©gis Wargnier – the director of Man to Man. MovieScore Media’s tenth entry in the ‘Discovery Collection’ features the proud and epic score from this ‘adventure movie with brains’, composed by Patrick Doyle in his most lyrical, melodic and exciting mood. Exquisit orchestrations, beautifully brought to life by the London Symphony Orchestra, elegant counterpoint (a trademark asset in Doyle’s music) and engaging rhythmic writing makes Man to Man one of the composer’s finest works, crowned by a magnificient main theme! First edition of the CD is limited to 1,000 copies.

1. Suite from "Man to Man" 4:28
2. Main Title and The Rapids 3:18
3. Paying the King 1:30
4. Capsized 2:19
5. Sea Sickness 0:51
6. Abigail's Feeling 1:40
7. Measuring the Pygmies 1:57
8. Pygmy Chase 3:08
9. Hitting Trees 1:43
10. Likola Kills 2:07
11. Alexander's Arrow 0:53
12. The Net 1:00
13. Apes and Mankind 2:37
14. Baby 1:29
15. The Kidnapping of Likola 1:17
16. Alexander Cut 1:14
17. Catching Elena 0:54
18. In the Snow 2:06
19. The Return of Likola 3:00
20. Monkey Waltz 1:33

Click here for more info and sound clips